Oregon GOP Legislators seek abortion ban after 20 weeks gestation

Oregon Republicans in the House Thursday introduced HB3017, which would ban abortions after 20 weeks gestation and impose counseling requirements. The bill is cosponsored by 15 of the 25 House Republicans and 8 of 13 Republican Senators.

But what’s the current state of law in Oregon?

What are current Oregon restrictions/laws on abortions?

Oregon currently has no abortion limits based on the age of the fetus  and is one of a few states that uses public funds to pay for medically necessary abortions. In fact Oregon does not have any of the major types of abortion restrictions—such as waiting periods, parental notification laws or mandated parental involvement or limitations on publicly funded abortions—often found in other states.

(link to a comprehensive list of abortion laws by state compiled by the Guttmacher Institute). Oregon and Vermont have been cited as the States with the fewest restrictions on abortion procedures.

Late Term Abortion restrictions

Later term abortion restrictions, by state, as Compiled by the Guttmacher Institute

  • 43 states prohibit some abortions after a certain point in pregnancy.
    • 18 states impose prohibitions at fetal viability.
    • 2 states impose prohibitions in the third trimester.
    • 23 states impose prohibitions after a certain number of weeks; 16 of these states ban abortion at about 20 weeks post-fertilization or its equivalent of 22 weeks after the woman’s last menstrual period on the grounds that the fetus can feel pain at that point in gestation.
  • The circumstances under which later abortions are permitted vary from state to state.
    • 24 states permit later abortions to preserve the life or health of the woman.
    • 17 states unconstitutionally ban later abortions, except those performed to save the life or physical health of the woman.
    • 3 states unconstitutionally limit later abortions to those performed to save the life of the woman.
  • Some states require the involvement of a second physician when a later-term abortion is performed.
    • 13 states require that a second physician attend the procedure to treat a fetus if it is born alive in all or some circumstances
    • 9 states unconstitutionally require that a second physician certify that the abortion is medically necessary in all or some circumstances.

In Oregon, the law is clear. Abortion decisions are truly between a woman or girl and her medical provider. And if it’s a medical necessity,  the State will provide funding for themedical procedure.

 

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes